Spring is coming…

IMG_8468This afternoon I went outside to complete the menial task of emptying the rubbish, recycling and compost but was nearly bowled over by the pungent aroma of our massive daphne bush in the centre of our backyard. Even though we still have one month left of winter and the nights are still below 1 degree, I can see the first signs of spring upon us in the beautiful Blue Mountains. My 19 month old daughter gives every flower she sees a little sniff, even if they’re fake or in a book. I love that innocence and enthusiasm for life and nature. Children teach us so much: to slow down – even when you’re busy, to laugh – even when you’re angry, and to love – even when you feel like you have nothing left to give. So, we picked this array of flowers including lavender, forget me not, violet and daphne. Funnily enough, these are all girl’s names (yes, I know a lovely little lady whose middle name is ‘forget me not’)! Last year during our family photo shoot this daphne bush featured as a beautiful centrepiece as well. I think it’s kind of magical.

IMG_4362
Our family photo shoot from August 2014 with the amazing laurabluephotography.com.au

Leave a comment